The Chakra System

The Chakra System Inspire Yoga and Wellbeing

The Chakra system is part of an ancient tradition which first originated in India

This system is used as a powerful tool for healing and transformation. The system is not based on our physical body but our subtle or energetic body.

The Chakra system used in the west is one of many Chakra systems. Some systems contain 5, 10, 12 or more Chakras. The system we will use is the 7 Chakra system. 

In the Tantrik traditions, from which the concept derives, chakras are focal points for meditation within the human body, visualized as structures of energy resembling discs or flowers at those points where a number of nadis (energy channels) converge

These centres allow energy to flow from one part of the body to another. Each centre governs specific emotional, spiritual and mental aspects of ourselves. We function optimally when all our chakras are in balance. There are specific Yoga and meditation practices that can help bring the chakras into balance and each of us to full health.

The Chakras also detail a path to enlightenment. As we mature toward a more spiritual existence, each centre teaches us necessary lessons on the path to becoming spiritually mature.

Working in conjunction with the chakras are the Nadis. These are tubes, ducts or channels which carry air, water, blood, nutrients and other substances around the body. On a physical level, they are our arteries, veins, capillaries and so on. In our subtle body they are channels for vital energy.

There are three main nadis to consider:

  • Susuma – this is located at the centre of the spine and terminates at the crown of the head
  • Ida – Sits to the left of Susumna and ends at the left nostril
  • Pingali – Sits to the right of susumna and ends at the right nostril

Kundalini is an energy that exists in everyone’s body, usually in a dormant state. It is symbolized by a sleeping serpent with 3 1/2 coils. It has a tail in its mouth which faces downwards.This energy lies dormant at the base of the spine unless it is awakened. 

When the creative energy of kundalini is awakened, the energy moves up through the chakras, clearing any blocks we may have. Through this process, the nadis ida and pingali merge within the susumna and we connect our physical body to the divine. We live our lives more fully and become the best possible version of ourselves.

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the Author

Liama Aesha has been a Shiatsu Practitioner for 17 years and a Yoga Teacher for 10 years.

She owns her own clinic and Yoga studio in Dee Why. She believes in empowering her clients with the knowledge to understand their own health and to give them the best tools to use as and when they require.

Registered Member of Shiatsu Therapy Association, Australia.
Registered Level 2 Teacher with Yoga Australia
Registered Yoga Therapist with Yoga Australia

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Training Certified with Yoga Australia